Weather Forecast


Krautkremer appointed to Nisswa City Council

Ross Krautkremer is the most recent resident to join the Nisswa City Council.

Ross Krautkremer is the most recent resident to join the Nisswa City Council.

The council appointed Krautkremer on Wednesday, June 18, at the recommendation of council members Joe Meyer and Gary Johnson, who reviewed the applications.

Other applicants were Doug Hansen, Don Jacobson and Joe Lanz. 

Meyer said all candidates were well qualified and eligible to fill the position.

“We have the task in picking one person,” he said, urging everyone to understand that the position will be on the November election ballot, as will two other council seats and the mayor seat.

“So if you are not the one appointed, you certainly can put in for the general election in November,” Meyer said.

Filings for city office open July 29 and close Aug. 12. Two four-year Nisswa council seats and one two-year seat will be on the ballot. Seats occupied by Gregg Sellner and now Krautkremer, as well as Meyer’s and Mayor Brian Lehman’s seats will be on the ballot.

Krautkremer was appointed to fill a seat vacated by Tina Foster, who resigned in April.

A three-member council had appointed Sellner in April to fill a seat vacated by Jan Pierce, who resigned in February. 

Krautkremer told the council last month that he has spent most of his career working in Nisswa and is a 43-year resident. He recently retired from the Nisswa Fire Department after serving for 24 years, so he has time to pursue city government and volunteering. He said he has the experience, proper motives and dedication to the residents of Nisswa to be a part of the council.

 Nancy Vogt can be reached at Follow her and on Twitter @PEJ_Nancy.