Weather Forecast


Council members, mayor sworn in

Two city council members and the mayor of Breezy Point raised their right hands and were sworn into office Monday night, Jan. 7, at the first regular council meeting of the year.

Incumbent Otto Schmid was re-elected and Diane Williams returns to the council, both for four-year terms. Mayor JoAnn Weaver was sworn in for another two-year term.

In addition to swearing in its returning members, the council passed an organizational resolution concerning committees, commissions and their liaisons.

Williams was named liaison to the Parks and Recreation Committee. Linda Gronholz was appointed to a two-year term. There are a number of vacancies on the committee, with one two-year term available and two three-year terms available.

EDA member Roger Okerman retired, and Michael Moroni was appointed to his vacant position. Council members Schmid and Tom Lillehei were appointed to the EDA.

Kay Spizzo was appointed to another term on the cemetery commission, after filling in for Sandy Okerman, who resigned. Paula Dotterwick was reappointed to the commission, and the council liaison will continue to be Weaver.

On the planning commission, Carol Metzger’s and Boyd Roggenbuck’s terms expired, and both were reappointed for another term. Lillehei will continue as council liaison.

Other appointments included Joseph Langel of Ratwich, Roszak and Maloney, who will continue as city attorney; Schlenner Wenner & Co, which will continue as city auditor; the city consultant engineer will continue to be Mike Rude of Widseth Smith Nolting; the official depository will continue to be Pine River State Bank; and the Lake Country Echo will continue as the city’s official newspaper.