Weather Forecast


Brainerd Dispatch, Echo Journal win awards

Pete Mohs; Publisher, Theresa Bourke, Nancy Vogt, Matt Erickson, Chelsey Perkins, Linda Hurst, Susie Alters, and Kathy Bittner Lee with awards won by the two media companies at the 2017 MNA's Better Newspaper Contest.

The Brainerd Dispatch and Echo Publishing were honored with awards at the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Better Newspaper Contest. Thursday , Jan. 25.


Kelly Humphrey - Photo story (1st place); sports photo (3rd); portrait & personality (2nd); feature photo (3rd)

Lisa Henry - Use of Information & graphics (3rd); self promotion house ad (3rd)

Steve Kohls - News photo (1st place)

Jim Stafford - Best use of video (3rd)

Staff - Special sections (2nd); typography & design (3rd); advertising excellence (1st place); sports reporting (3rd); use of photography as a whole (1st place)


Travis Grimler - Best use of video (3rd); photo story (2nd)

Nancy Vogt - human interest story (2nd)